Monday, 23 April 2018

Aditi Rao Hydari and Kriti Sanon Support Death Penalty

#AditiRaoHydari graced the Red Carpet event of #DadasahebPhalkeExcellenceAwards2018. The actress is awarded Best Actress Critics Award for her role in Bhoomi. During her media interaction actress hailed the Union Cabinet recent approval of an ordinance to allow courts to award death penalty to those convicted of raping children up to 12 years of age.

The Union Cabinet headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday approved an ordinance that will make sweeping changes to criminal law to deter acts of rape and instill a sense of security among women and children.

Talking about her Award win for the heartbreaking portrayal of a rape survivor in Bhoomi, Aditi Rao Hydari said, “The fact that it is happening, it’s a good thing! Of course, this should have happened much earlier but I am really happy it is happening now. I hope more changes take place and no girl in our country ever has to face such violence.”

Actress Kriti Sanon, who won the Outstanding Performance by Female for Bareilly ki Barfi, also hailed the decision by Union Cabinet.

“I am really glad and happy that this is finally happening that it is Death Penalty for raping a minor. It is a thing that I feel very strongly for and it makes me angry when every single day I read about a new case of rape which has happened somewhere in our country and it is really shameful. I am glad that finally a strong harsh punishment will be given but I really hope that justice for every case in these scenarios happens fast, we need to sort of fast-track the justice for these cases because it is happening way too often and it is animalistic and horrible.”

This is my first award for Bareilly Ki Barfi, this is such a prestigious award. This film has been very special for me, and always will be close to my heart. I am really excited and honored.

The Dadasaheb Phalke Excellence Award 2018 was graced by Entire Bollywood Brigade, which includes people like Shahid Kapoor, Karan Johar, Shilpa Shetty, Kartik Aryan, Rajkummar Rao, Tamannah Bhatia, Rana Daggubati, Aahana Kumra, Rani Mukerji, Tusshar Kapoor, Hina Khan, Karan Patel, Sunil Pal, Manoj Muntashir, Divya Khosla Kumar, Sumona Chakraborty, Simi Garewal and Ashwiny Iyer were among many graced the event.

Source - News Helpline