Thursday, 15 September 2016

Morgan Freeman, Mel Brooks to receive National Medal of Arts

Actors Mel Brooks, Morgan Freeman and Audra McDonald, composer Philip Glass and record producer Berry Gordy are among the recipients of the annual National Medal of Arts, which US President Barack Obama will confer at a ceremony at the White House on September 22.

Other honourees include author Sandra Cisneros, the Eugene O'Neill Theater Center, musician Santiago Jimenez, Jr, playwright and director Moises Kaufman, dancer and choreographer Ralph Lemon, playwright and actor Luis Valdez and painter Jack Whitten, reports

The National Council on the Arts, which oversees the National Endowment for the Arts, reviews nominations and sends recommendations to the president, who determines the honorees.
Also being honoured will be recipients of the National Humanities Medal -- author Rudolfo Anaya, chef Jose Andres, author Ron Chernow, poet Louise Gl├╝ck, radio host Terry Gross, composer and musician Wynton Marsalis, author James McBride, author Louis Menand, historian Elaine Pagels, the Prison University Project, physician Abraham Verghese, and journalist and author Isabel Wilkerson.

To stay updated, visit InstaMag or connect with us on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest.

Visit our yet another website on Food recipe and health tips (largest collection of Indian and International recipe) - Imperial Inn!

No comments:

Post a Comment